DevOps community blog

This blog is dedicated to Coral Project, I will describe the various phases and challenges of the project from the DevOps perspective.Its a Mozilla Foundation project, in collaboration with the New York Times and the Washington Post.

We are creating open source tools and practices for newsrooms of all sizes, to build better communities around their journalism. That means better comment boxes, better user-generated content modules, and a whole lot more.

As a Mozilla project, the user’s control over their privacy and identity will be paramount throughout.
My name is Eugene de Fikh, I am a DevOps engineer who has been with a Coral Project starting mid December 2015. I am in charge of the infrastructure and automation using todays DevOps principles. I have been a systems engineer for the past 15 years , in the last 5 years I have been working on automating AWS infrastructures for various startups.

Current setup is done in AWS console using VPC subnets. I have assigned private and public subnet , creating a three tier architecture design. We allow web servers to talk to the outside world and to middle tier servers. Middle tier is allowed to make direct connection to database. Database servers are not accessible from outside. In addition we use OpenVPN server to allow access to developers per allowed groups. We will be implementing OpenLdap to manage ssh keys and rotate users logins on regularly scheduled basis.Backend is run by Mongo db 3.2 cluster , with a primary and 2 secondary servers.